Department of Geosciences and Natural Resource Management (IGN) is organised in a Leadership Team, an Administration, four scientific sections, and the Forest and Landscape College.

Within the four scientific sections: Geography, Geology, Forest, Nature and Biomass, Landscape Architecture and Planning the research is organised in 21 research groups. The research groups cooperate with international colleagues, some of which work at IGN from time to time.

IGN also participates in the centres: Geocenter Denmark and National Centre for Forest, Landscape and Planning (Forest & Landscape).

IGN has a number of councils and committees that contribute to securing management counselling, involvement, dialogue and collaboration.