Dialogue on governance to develop sustainable forest landscapes for production of wood for energy and the bioeconomy

Online workshop with Virtual Field Tours in Northern and Eastern Europe and North America


Welcome to the website of the online workshop “Dialogue on governance to develop sustainable forest landscapes for production of wood for energy and the bioeconomy”.

The goal of this workshop is to engage stakeholders and bring them together to discuss the benefits and challenges to governing sustainability of forest management, with particular emphasis on forest bioenergy. This includes questions related to calculation and modeling of forest carbon and climate impacts.

The geographic focus is on boreal and temperate forests in Northern and Eastern Europe, and North America. You will have the opportunity to join virtual field tours in in these regions, listen to presentations, and interactively discuss the benefits and challenges to governing sustainability of forest landscapes.

The workshop is free for all, but registration is required to participate. 

 

 

 

 

A cross-section of forest sector and society involved with and concerned about the governance and documentation of sustainable forest bioenergy and bioeconomy supply chains, for example forest landowners, wood pellet companies, wood chip producers, traders, private state and federal foresters, forest industry, bioenergy utilities, state conservation organizations, public and private providers of relevant data for verification, staff of forestry certification systems and certification bodies, policy makers, academia, NGOs, consultants, media, the general public.

 

 

The workshop is free to all participants but registration is required to participate. 

You can register here (comming soon).

The registration is open until 11 October 2021, 24:00 EET.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Inge Stupak (coordinator)

ism@ign.ku.dk

University of Copenhagen, Denmark

Andis Lazdins

andis.lazdins@silava.lv

Latvian State Forest Research Institute (SILAVA), Latvia.
C. Tattersall Smith

tat.smith@utoronto.ca

University of Toronto, Canada

Dagnija Lazdina

dagnija.lazdina@silava.lv

Latvian State Forest Research Institute (SILAVA), Latvia

Dave M. Morris

Dave.M.Morris@ontario.ca

Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources, Canada

Diana Lukminė

Diana.Lukmine@lammc.lt

(LAMMC), Lithuania,Lithuanian Research Center for Agriculture and Forestry,

Helja-Sisko Helmisaari

Helja-sisko.helmisaari@helsinki.fi

University of Helsinki, Finland

Iveta Varnagiryte-Kabasinskiene

iveta.kabasinskiene@lammc.lt

Lithuanian Research Center for Agriculture and Forestry, (LAMMC), Lithuania

Kristi Nigul

nigul@hdforest.com

Estonian University of Life Sciences (EMU) and HD Forest, Estonia

Liviu Nichiforel

nichiforel@usv.ro

Stefan cel Mare University of Suceava, Romania

Nicholas Clarke

Nicholas.Clarke@nibio.no

Norwegian Institute of Bioeconomy Research (NIBIO), Norway

Puneet Dwivedi

puneetd@warnell.uga.edu

University of Georgia, USA